When Field is Deleted Permission Set changes are not recognized for the Field
Let's say we have only one object in the system. Addressc. And we have one Permission Set -> "System Administrator" with only "FieldPermissions" for all fields in the "Addressc" object.
Now I wish to Remove 2 Fields from "FieldPermissions" of the "System Administrator" Permission Set.
1st Field I'm removing just because I do not want the permission to be in the Permission set
2d Field I'm Removing from Permission Set, as I have physically deleted the Field.
On Compare And Deploy Page I will See Deleted Field and I will see only one Section to be removed from Permission Set.
Proceed to Deployment. NO Validation Message that Target has no Field that is presented in the Permission Set.
Downloading .zip package. I can see FieldPermission in the Permission Set
As result the package will fail during Deployment.
Kris Goncalves commented
It'd be great, for instance, to have the deleted field's references in Permission Set be removed just like it does for Profiles with the Repo Cleaner in Repositories.